+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: Atomic Alum Ball Diffs

mdntblu Guest

Default Atomic Alum Ball Diffs

I have a Mamba 8000kv in my Half 8 and I keep stripping the diffs out. I glued the center diff so i would have better traction but now the rear diff stripped. Do you know if the Atomic Alum ball diffs are good or are there metal diffs to use for the Half 8?

I'm not even quite sure if I understand how those ones work. They look different then a standard diff.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks
    Brad

...mdtnblu...welcome to the boards...There are no metal gears yet but GPM has them on the drawing boards...Right now many of us are wating for Ascubie; our resident guinea-pig, to get his ATOMIC diffs and do them damage and then report back...3RACING was the first to POST diffs but ATOMIC was first to market...

...ona sidenote the GPM gear boxes, ALL of them...are seemingly pigs to put together because of the abscence of their hadware...A slight oversight by the boys @ GPM...

...The front and rear ATOMIC diffs look good ( apart from they are blue ) but you are right about the center looking 'strange'...Ascubie will reveal all in his 24-episode report

acsubie Guest

just got them today BIT..finally got rid of the strange slipping from the center diff(not the slipper)..finally got some adjustablity...BUT there are a few things i dont like, but i'll lay down the GOOD first

GOOD
    1. Atomic actually made a real ball diff similiar to the bigger more expensive ones..i know all ball diffs have thrust balls behind the adjustment screw, not only does Atomic have those but also there is a bearing INSIDE the diff to help with more adjustablitly-big plus
    2. no more unwanted slipping from the center, lil premature to totally approve of them but at least my H8 is more driveable now..time will tell how these suckers hold up though