PDA

View Full Version : Rocket Destroyed after 5 runs

mgs781
10-05-2005, 11:49 AM
Hi,

Based on advice given on this forum, I bought a Rocket motor and 8 cell pac. I ran the car 5 time with the slipper gear tightened up all the way but still slipping too much. Last night I was running the car for 15 minutes when it died. The motor was hot, I put my temp gauge against the opening in the chassis and is read 145F. I took the cover off and placed the temp gauge against the can and it read 250F. The motor is junk, but do these things really only last a few runs? I am going to get a 3Racing motor mount and heat sink, Do I need to buy a supply of Rockets. I am not ready to go brushless yet.

MGS

WhoMe
10-05-2005, 12:00 PM
While I have no expierence with the Rocket. You might end up saving if you just save your ducks and get a brushless combo.

WeatherB
10-05-2005, 12:23 PM
I have no experience with the rocket either, but did you break in the motor before running it in your car?

mgs781
10-05-2005, 12:37 PM
What kind of breakin does a $10 motor need? Brushless is cool, but you need to replace all electronics, which is atleast $200.

When the slipper isn't slipping, the car is really fast with the Rocket.

MGS

WhoMe
10-05-2005, 01:27 PM
Your absolutly right. When you get a new motor its usually a good idea to break in the brushes somhow. Some people just run it with no load..(that means not in the car with no weight to move) on very low voltage for five minutes or so. I use the water break in method. In where you hook your motor up to a charger that has a motor run feature; hit the motor at 2 or 3 volts and dip it while running into a cup of water. Let it run in there for 1 or 2 minutes untill the water is alittle cloudy and remove it. Clean it out with motor spray and oil the bearing or bushings. Then your good to go. However that may not be why your motor is going nuclear. Try ajusting your gearing..you may be geared too tall or too low.