PDA

View Full Version : how to take slipper out

.5x8
06-10-2005, 12:44 AM
like the title says, how do i take the slipper out? :p sorry if its a noobie question....the slipper is new to me..so i dont know how to take it out.

holy_inferno
06-10-2005, 01:13 AM
I'm a newb also and this may be wrong, but I took the slipper out by removing the screws that held the center diff thingy to the chassis, remove the center diff from the chassis and took out the screws out that held the diff together, and there was the slipper... is this method right? :)

BitHed
06-10-2005, 03:27 AM
...THATS PRETTY MUCH IT...sorry caps on...

...remove the 5 screws that hold the center diff in...Well there are four screws and one pillow ball...be careful not to scratch the 'ball' part of the pillow ball...Scratching it will just mean it feels 'grainy' later on...

...remember that the DRIVE dog bones have one LONG spike and one short one...angle it so the SHORT one pops out first...When you fit them back on try the LONG one first...its easier...

...While you are in there check to see your DRIVE dog bones are straight...

...You also have the option of a bit of grease on each end, just a little bit, when you fit them back into their cups...

...good idea to clean the stock bearings if they are out anyway...my BIG one was awful from the start...De-lube to get rid of the chunky crap and RE-lube with your favourite...

...When you put the center diff back together with the 3 tiny lilltle screws try this...

...Looking from the rear there are two screws on the right and one on the left...Tighten the LEFT one down and leave the two RIGHT ones quite loose...It will affect the angle of the slipper shaft and the tightness of it...Have a play and see what you like...Its just an option...

...You can also shim the BIG bearing end of the slipper shaft if you would like to...