PDA

View Full Version : problems with charger or batteries

nmb
03-27-2007, 06:00 PM
I just got a Duratrax Intellipeak Deluxe Charger.

I'm using a normal personal computer (PC) to supply a steady 12V up to 8A to the charger.

The charger has trickle charge at 100mA, fast charge between 0.5A and 6.5A.

Received two G-MAXX nimh 1200mA for the MIST and a normal nicd 2000mA 7.2V pack for a Mardave RC.

Now something is not right at all.

one of the packs I opted to fast charge at 2A. After only 5 min the charger flashes stating that battery is near peak. what? nevertheless over two hours later, the charger still does not switch to trickle charge. Remove the battery and my kid was able to run MIST for almost a minute. yes! 1 minute. wow!

the second pack was left overnight at trickle charge. result. MIST does not even move :(

I'm a complete newb at this...

Is the two packs faulty?? Is the Charger Faulty??

:mad:

nuno

tanandy09
03-27-2007, 07:06 PM
It might be due to a false peak.

I would try to do a quick charge @ 1.5Amp to see what happens. Monitor the temperature of the battery when charging @ 2Amp, It gets hot very quickly.
Battery should be fully charge in about 50mins.

If the battery still don't last, Try to cycle the battery using slow charge.(then let the pack rest for a day) and then discharge at 2Amps, after which rest for a few hours. Do NOT use the 10Amp discharge.

Try quick charging again after cycling the battery.

What about the other packs? Same problems?

nmb
03-27-2007, 07:23 PM
It might be due to a false peak.

I would try to do a quick charge @ 1.5Amp to see what happens. Monitor the temperature of the battery when charging @ 2Amp, It gets hot very quickly.
Battery should be fully charge in about 50mins.

If the battery still don't last, Try to cycle the battery using slow charge.(then let the pack rest for a day) and then discharge at 2Amps, after which rest for a few hours. Do NOT use the 10Amp discharge.