PDA

View Full Version : How to take out the stock ESC unit?

hkopium
04-29-2005, 01:47 PM
Okay brothers and sisters, I bought a Futaba 3PM-FM Tx, Futaba 133F Rx, HG-85MG servo, GM-Racing V6R ESC... all ready to do the replacement.

But then... how do I remove the stock ESC/Rx unit? Use brute force?

I studied the schematic and I see no screw holding the ESC in place.

(1) Is it hold by a double faced scotch tape?
(2) Do I need to unscrew or remove other parts first before pulling it out?
(3) Anything I need to watch out when removing it?

Smoothound
04-29-2005, 01:49 PM
As far as I can remember it is stuck down with servo tape...

hkopium
04-29-2005, 01:52 PM
As far as I can remember it is stuck down with servo tape...

So... just pull it with force!? :eek:

lukeita
04-29-2005, 02:36 PM
yes! a lot of force :)

hkopium
04-29-2005, 07:38 PM
yes! a lot of force :)

Done! Thanks! Just use a small flat head screwdriver to pry it, not hard.

lukeita
04-29-2005, 11:33 PM
good... now I'm in dubt about what to use for the new receiver-esc... again tape? Or better a strong "velcro"?
bye

hkopium
04-30-2005, 04:36 AM
good... now I'm in dubt about what to use for the new receiver-esc... again tape? Or better a strong "velcro"?
bye

At this time, I only testing the set up. So i only use not so strong double face 3M heat trans tape to hold them in the H8. Later, I will use "plastic gun" (Not sure the proper name of it, just a gun like device which your insert a long plastic rod into it and then it uses heat to melt it) after I found the best set up i like.

adrenalinrush123998
04-30-2005, 04:26 PM
just yank it off

then i suggest to replace the double side thats already on there with....double sided tape!

then if decide to remove the ESC again....(your new one i mean)
for any number of various reasons...it will be easy to take off

hkopium
04-30-2005, 05:56 PM
Yeah, I changed them all already. Thanks bro.