PDA

View Full Version : Battery Charger Question

boxcleverrob
09-02-2006, 06:45 PM
Hi All,
I'm new to the Mini Inferno scence and am hoping for some sound advice. :confused:

I'll be ordering my MI soon accompanied with some Kyosho 9.6v 1100 Ni-MH saddle batteries.
Q1. Are these batteries the right choice? One pack comes with the circuit protector, which I've heard is a "must have".
Q2. I still need a charger. I want something that will work from the mains as well as a car battery (and hopefully quite cheap since I'm a bit strapped for cash). Any suggestions or chargers that I should go for or even ones I should avoid?

Cheers, :D

Rob

boxcleverrob
09-07-2006, 06:36 PM
All,
Further to my previous mail (what - no replies from anyone!?) - I've got my MI - I ended up buying a ProPeak Prodigy II charger. Next stop - a car battery! Anyone had any good/bad experience with the Prodigy II (now that it's too late to be of any help!)?? ;)
Cheers,
Rob

Jinxt
09-07-2006, 08:35 PM
I use a pro peak prodigy II linked to a pro peak 13.8V power supply, have never had a problem with it and use it to charge everything: 7.2V packs for E-maxx ( nicad and ni-mi); ni-mi for Nightranger II; all batts for tx and rx's; all packs for the micro's and 7Ah lead acid batts for glow starts etc. Only thing I have'nt used it for is lipo cos I have'nt got any.
Nice little charger, easy to use and understand.

boxcleverrob
09-08-2006, 06:42 PM
Jinxt,
Thanks for the reply. It's starting to click for me now. Your ProPeak 13.8v power supply is fed directly from the mains (i.e. AC). So I could buy an AC power supply to feed the charger when in the house and, for example, a 12v car battery for DC charging when I'm out racing. OK, cool. I picked up the Prodigy II this morning from the local post office (the guy was such a spanner) and it does looks pretty straightforward. Roll on the weekend! :)

Jinxt
09-08-2006, 10:21 PM
That's right, the 13.8V psu is mains (ac) fed.

boxcleverrob
09-09-2006, 02:46 PM