PDA

View Full Version : Brushless Vs. Brushed

groundhogg
06-18-2006, 09:33 PM
Is there a brushed motor made for the Mini Inferno that can keep up with the brushless selection out there?

Lemme take a step back & explain my situation. I own an almost box stock MIST (new rec/speedo/motor/servo), that I like alot. I almost strictly race it, so I go for performance over bling. I have a Mamba25 with the 6.8k motor right now. It is quite fast, but I often have cogging issues during the race, and the motor comes off the track blistering hot (5 minutes).

I have an Atom ESC that could fit in nicely, but I am curious if there is a brushed motor that can equate to my brushless? I am currently running 6 cells, but I could go to 8 if that could be of help with speed.

Or, is there something i could do to prevent the cogging during the race? I saw the motor mount with the fan attached, and it's on my list of hop-ups.

I guess what I'd really like to see is a brushless motor that is the size of the stock MIST motor (380 size?). Seems like that would stay cooler than stressing the poor Mamba motor. Doesn't the Mamba wear out prematurely due to the heat?

Any thoughts, guys?

ChrisOFNA
06-19-2006, 12:19 AM
I use a hacker brushless motor (same size can as mamba motors) which gets hot after ripping it up and down the street (and because thats what happens after adding a 3 cell lipo), but I've never raced it. To get rid of some heat id try to get the 3Racing motor mount with fan. From what I've heard itll cool it down 15-20 degrees. You might also wanna check out some of the settings on the esc with the castle creations link.

I've never seen a brushed system out for the mini inferno that will contend with the brushless systems out there...

On a side note: What size battery are you using?

BiGRoB21
06-19-2006, 12:27 AM
what is your gearing, and battery set up?

pointcrossed
06-20-2006, 11:30 AM