PDA

View Full Version : Brushless motors

zachhitamailbox
05-28-2006, 10:17 PM
What is a brushless motor exactly? Whats the difference between a brushless and stock motor?

OvaYaHead
05-28-2006, 10:43 PM
It doesn't have brushes :D

zachhitamailbox
05-28-2006, 11:02 PM
im pretty new to the r/c scene so i dont really understand.......

OvaYaHead
05-28-2006, 11:22 PM
I don't know the whole science behind motors, but I can give you a general idea.

If you ever open up a brushed motor, you'll find magnets touching the spindle. On a brushless there are no magnets touching the spindle.

There are two main types of brushless motors: outrunner and inrunner.

In a outrunner the spindle stays stationary while the outer part moves around it.

In a inrunner the spindle spins.

Since your asking about brushless I think you should build your inferno from scratch. You'll need to swap out all the electronics on a RTR to go brushless.

zachhitamailbox
05-28-2006, 11:29 PM
so ill have to change the motor and speed control??

OvaYaHead
05-28-2006, 11:59 PM
servo, receiver and transmitter too. Unless you get a 27mhz am reciever thats compatible with the stock transmitter. It's better to just get a better transmitter. This is why I suggested just starting from scratch. The only thing you miss out on is seeing how everything fits and works together on a RTR.

Perli
05-29-2006, 08:03 AM
Why do you have to change servo and reveiver? Might be a stupid question but I'm new at this. Thanks!

JakeE
05-29-2006, 03:27 PM
Why do you have to change servo and reveiver? Might be a stupid question but I'm new at this. Thanks!

The stock receiver and speed control are combined into one unit, this setup does not allow for use of a different speed control. The stock servo is a four wire unit and is incompatible with standard receivers which only work with standard three wire servos.

Perli
05-29-2006, 05:37 PM