PDA

View Full Version : Best Rx?

Bill Killillay
03-27-2006, 11:39 PM
Hello All,

I've been out of RC Ground dwellers for a long time now and so getting back into it in a limited way I figured that I would ask a few questions.

I just bought an ST and the bits and pieces to turn my ST into a sudo buggy. Was just wondering, if I were to buy an after market radio and Rx, what ya'll would suggest?

I've been flying planes and helis for the last 5 or 6 years and just wanted something to knock around with in the back yard with my boys. However I like nice stuff and tend to spend the $$ to make them that way.

Sorry for the history, but there it is, idea's, thoughts, suggestions? Fire away.

Thx,
Bill K.

BitHed
03-27-2006, 11:54 PM
...IMO the BEST RX 'system' is the FUTABA HRS system, but it requires a digital servo...

...My next choice for an reciever ONLY would hands down be the NOVAK XXL...

...FM will also make your life easier over AM, but that of course depends on personal preference and your budget...

Bill Killillay
03-28-2006, 12:08 AM
When you say the Futaba HRS, what are you meaning. Digital is cool. I've run 2k worth of digitals in some of my bigger planes. Just not familure with this HRS thing?

I used to race on-road nitro about 7 years ago and used to be pretty decent. Then I got bored and have tried just about everything that RC has to offer. Now my real thrills come from jumping out of planes. The RC stuff is just to pass time when time or weather does not permit the other.

BK

leapingbug
03-28-2006, 01:28 AM
Anything HRS is really good Futaba,KO propo,
spektrum rx are amazingly easy to use with no concerne for interference the new pro version is even faster to so :D :D (BUT IM BIAS TO KO PROPO)

bbking9
03-28-2006, 01:33 AM
Hey Bill,

I bought a Spektrum DX2 at my local hobby shop for $149 (since then the cheapest I have seen is $169) to use with my 1/18th scale stuff. Sold the 2 full size servos it came with for $49. So the system cost me $100.