PDA

View Full Version : Jumping into 1/16

Hikari no Tenshi
12-25-2005, 03:13 AM
Hello, my name is Adam and this is my first mini size car, i've been doing other scales for about 10 years now, but couldn't resist the Mini Inferno. Little different than what i'm used to (not so many "need to replace" parts) but i'm making the transition well, I think. I paint lexan and go to school full time and i'm also interested in full size cars.
So far i've got bearings in the inferno. But i've got CF towers and saver plates on the way along with Ti suspension bits and torque rods. Kyosho shocks and Proline tires and bodies are on the way as well... i'm going to be busy. Anyway, look forward to talking with you guys and trying to get the Half 8 class going locally. Initial testing at the track was lack luster, but i'm hoping to bolster that with mine and get some more guys into it. Cheers!

mat3833
12-25-2005, 03:17 AM
cf towers are bad for the front, everything esle is good. look into an aluminum motor mount and center diff housing. welcome to the forums and hope you stay!!

Matty

Hikari no Tenshi
12-25-2005, 03:24 AM
If I may inquire, what makes them a bad decision for the front? I just ordered them because the stocker reminded me of a twizzler. Just curious, i've been combing the forums for a few days now and didn't see anything on it. I'm trying to go kinda slow on the upgrades (SO ADDICTING!) but i'm sure i'll eventually bump up the mount (for a hotter motor) see how that goes. First things first, gotta get it fully functional.

bermbuster
12-25-2005, 03:36 AM
welcome Adam....I believe they break.....the cf towers.....on a buggy the tower takes a lot of punishment.....Because they put so many holes in it for adjustability they usually break off.....I think you want the motormount right off......when you run and the motor gets hot.....the plastic motormount will get warm and float.....this may make your pinion grind the center diff.....