PDA

View Full Version : Mamba 8000 or AON 4900

gazzer55
12-09-2005, 04:59 AM
I am looking to buy an H8 and will either put in a Mamba 8000 package or the AON 4900 with Mamba ESC. I was wondering what parts I will need to upgrade to run one of thses motors.
If someone could send me some links as to what servo and receiver I should buy that would be great. ARe these the only parts I absolutely need? I am new to this and know very lil about electronics in cars. Can I run these motors with the stock radio and upgrade the receiver or do I need both?
Also what speeds would I be looking at getting with one these motors?

holy_inferno
12-09-2005, 05:21 AM
...The Aon 4900 is known to be the best brushless motor -so far- for the Mini Inferno...I own a Mamba 6800, and it works great...an 8000, however, might have difficulties with cogging and overheating. :)
...If you change to brushless, you'll need to swap out all the electronics...
- A Novak XXL can be used with the stock Tx,
- Hitec makes perfect fitting aftermarket servos, HS-81/85 MG....
...Running fast motors require some other stuff as well...
- 8 Ball Bearings for the front/rear hubs
- Oil Shocks
- A battery pack, GP1100 by United RC is the best :)

Trickpatrick
12-09-2005, 05:37 AM
I would highly recomend staying away from the Mamba stuff.
Just dosn't work well in the H8.

The motors are to small and the 25 ESC is like an on off switch.

If all you'll ever do is run it up and down the street it works.

But if you use it on a track or stop and start alot or use reverse much it seems to over heat and then it starts cogging. The more it cogges the hotter it gets before long you want to toss the whole lot in a trash bin.

You can get lots of advice on how to fix it but the bottom line is don't go there.

I only bought the mamba setup for the H8, I tried every fix,I ended up selling it.

I would suggest the Tekin ESC it has a very smooth throttle curve.