PDA

View Full Version : X42s: how to

mnwrr
11-18-2005, 07:55 PM
Thanks to Jon over at URC (;) thanks buddy!) I now got a pair of X42s to run in my Infernetto (but only after Xmas :(). Being a noob, I need some pointers on care and how to charge these batteries. So if anyone could be kind enough to answer these questions I would be grateful :):

1) I can get an el cheapo Hobbyco 9.6v charger, which I don't know the specs. It doesn't have any features at all, only provides charge. Can I use it forever or can I use it only temporarily or should I not even bother? I don't even got the car yet but I've already blown my budget with parts, so any economy would be much appreciated. If I'm "allowed" to use it, to know the charge time I should dvide 1100 (mAh from the batteries) by the mAh output of the charger? For instance, if the charger has an output of 250 mA, peak charge will be reached in about 4h24mins (1100/250 = 4.4 hours = 4h24mins). Is that it?

2) Using the el cheapo, should I turn it off at exactly 4h24mins and not leave the batteries for more time then that? Do I have to disconnect the betteries or just unplugging the charger from the wall be enough?

3) Do URC batteries already come charged? If not, is there some charge/discharge cycle I should put them through before using?

4) Using them on the buggy, should I drain them all the way before recharging? In other words, can I run the buggy until it no more moves?

There is more that I want to ask, but from the answers to these questions I'll branch out if it's the case. I know I should buy a good charger, but I've been looking around and they're expensive as heck here (around 100 bucks usually :eek: ). If I could use the el cheapo it would mean GREAT economy.

bermbuster
11-18-2005, 10:51 PM