PDA

View Full Version : GP 1800 Nimh Batteries

hkopium
04-03-2005, 06:30 AM
This is a silly question, but I am new to RC...

(1) I have seen this Green/Yellow color GP batteries in electronic stores
http://www.gpbatteries.com.hk/html/products/rechargeable_hydride.html

(2) Are they the same ones as I see those Red color GP batteries in RC shops?

(3) If not, what are their differences?

(4) Can the Red ones use the Green/Yellow charger for recharging?

chrille
04-03-2005, 09:27 AM
If the red one you means are Kyoshos 9.6V pack, it`s not the same. The batteries on the picture is in AA size and the ones in Kyoshos pack is 2/3A! :)

BitHed
04-03-2005, 09:49 AM
...hkopium...you want the RED ones...they are NiMH...Nickle Metal Hydrate (?) or something like that...I am not a techie so i cant explain it all but i THINK you will need a dedicated NiMH charger too...Just go with the red ones...

chrille
04-03-2005, 10:13 AM
Thats right BitHed! For ni-mh batteries you`ll need a ni-mh charger and for ni-cd batteries you`ll need a ni-cd charger! :) But there is ofcourse chargers that can handle both og them, but because of that the ni-cd batteris are on theire way out you will probebly only need a ni-mh charger! :)

lukeita
04-03-2005, 11:26 AM
Sure! NiMH batteries are better than NiCD... you need a "special" charger as the method ("delta-peak") used to detect the end of the charge is different for the two kinds of batteries... "pro" chargers (I've a Ultimate 2) can handle both NiCD and NiMH
bye

hkopium
04-03-2005, 01:03 PM
...hkopium...you want the RED ones...they are NiMH...Nickle Metal Hydrate (?) or something like that...I am not a techie so i cant explain it all but i THINK you will need a dedicated NiMH charger too...Just go with the red ones...

I just checked with GP website. Green/Yellow is also NiMH batteries.

But the Red ones are called "specialty batteries for RC", which has more kicks... however, I am not sure how much more is the kick. :D