PDA

View Full Version : I want to understand batteries

mnwrr
10-25-2005, 06:09 PM
Guys, I'm new to RC and I'm still having trouble understanding the basics. Batteries for instance. I read that a great pack for the Mini Inferno is the 42s 9.6v 8-Cell 1100mah NiMH Battery Pack by United RC Xtreme. I d/led Kyosho's manual (VERY skimpy :mad: ) and it asks for 6 alkaline or Ni-MH AA batteries.

AA batteries have normally 1.2 v, so does this mean that I can run the car with 7.2 v up to 9.6 v? What will be the difference in run time and engine output with these two setups?

And now about amps. RC's pack uses batteries with 1100 mAh. What will be the difference if I used a pack with the same number of sells but with lower (like 850 mAh) or higher amps (I found a 6 cell saddle pack with 3300 mAh - let's say it's a 8 pack just for comparison)? In these two cases, how much run time would I get? Will there be difference power-wise, I mean, will the car be faster or slower?

pimpsmurf
10-25-2005, 07:02 PM
The mini inferno can take up to 8 cells NMHD.

GP1100 cells offer the high-discharge required for fast motors.
Larger (heavier) cells would offer longer (slower) runtimes, and most likely offer more than enough current for fast motors. It would definately be slower than 1100 cells because of the added weight, and would have longer runtimes.

Get a good matched and zapped NMHD pack and you will be happy. Everyone preaches UnitedRC (they never pick up the phone? lol), so that is what I'm getting.

-JNY

janniz
10-25-2005, 07:20 PM
I'll try to explain with my bad english...:rolleyes:
Basically: the more volts (more cells), the more speed. The more mAh, the longer the runtime. But this also depends on how many Ampere your motor draws while running - faster motors usually draw more Amps. With the GP 1.100 mAh cells and an AON brushless (which draws alot of Amps) you will still get about 10 to 15 minutes of runtime, depending on the surface and the pinion you are using.